A Child’s Paradise

Yeyyoh! 😀

So the next day we woke up early, all eager and thrilled to go the very Disneyland. It was a rather short trip from our cabin to the theme park. I also found out that there was this other Disney themed accommodation. I forgot what it was called but I remember, different from our squirrel-like cabin, it was like a grand, royal mansion. And a sparkly Tinkerbell was smack on the front of the building. I understand why we didn’t stay there, for obvious reasons…(cha ching, cha ching).

Me posing behind the walking broom from Disney s Fantasia.
Me posing behind the walking broom from Disney s Fantasia.

So entering Disneyland in daylight was so much a view to take in. It truly is a child’s paradise. That morning we queued to take a picture with the legendary Mickey Mouse himself. The queue was like, what… 2minutes? Other characters needn’t queue, only Mickey Mouse. Why am I not surprised?

MICKEYYYYY!!
MICKEYYYYY!!

I remember the first roller coaster we rode was this under tunnel themed one, and after it ended, my sister cried… cus, I guess she was traumatized by the ride? And when we were getting off and the next people were quickly booking their seats, everyone looked at her. I mean, yeah, a girl crying, who wouldn’t?

Honestly though, I can’t even recall how many days we went to Disneyland, but it was definitely fun. We ventured through the streets of what Disneyland had to offer, bought some treats to snack off.

I think I was eating ice cream, looks like it though
I think I was eating ice cream, looks like it though
Cotton Candy can definitely make one's day!
Cotton Candy can definitely make one’s day!

So like I said earlier, we went during the Christmas days. If you’re planning to go to a famous theme park, I highly suggest not only going during a holiday, but also during winter. Because the queues are like 20 minutes at most and it’s not so crowded as in the summers. Plus, you need not worry about being Frozen, because you will get used to it by the second day. And c’mon, once in a while you gotta have some fun with the weather, get out of the safe zone. Unless we’re talking about some heavy blizzard, now that I don’t recommend playing with. But yeah, the weather was a couple of negative degrees (I think)…

Standing in front of a Disneyland Christmas tree.
Standing in front of a Disneyland Christmas tree.

Once I saw this BuzzFeed video of how the gigantic pine tree is being set up during the wee hours in Disneyland. And that’s my sister and I standing in front of it. Check it out!

My friends might know this story, but there was this one time, when the sky was turning dark, where my mum and sister got separated from my brothers, my dad and I. I think it was because we were going on a roller coaster and my sister and my mum denied the invitation. Whilst trying to be united, we stumbled upon Stitch Live. It was new during 2008, so my dad told us we should give it a shot. So we followed him, because a) he’s our dad b)he’s been to 3 Disney theme parks, thus being more experienced. However, once we were inside and seated, I kinda regretted coming there because it was for children. Basically all you do it sit and there’ll be a big screen with Stitch on it communicating with the audience, with the help of this host…(a dude with a microphone).

How Stitch Live worked, and as you can see, the audience consists of kids...
How Stitch Live worked, and as you can see, the audience consists of kids…

And you see, my older brother didn’t enjoy it any more than me, maybe even less. So even when it all started, he had this dull face and his mouth was open like a Cheerio cereal. Then, all of a sudden Stitch was like “Wait, how about him? The one sitting at the back?” And the host was like ” Which one Stitch?” then on the screen came a photo of my brother!! Yup, with his bored stiff face. So the host walked up to him, held a microphone and my brother got interviewed with Stitch. It was HILARIOUS!

gif 4 gif 3 gif 5

I can’t even…. One of the questions being asked was “Where do you come from?” to which my bro replied “Malaysia”.

Stitch then entertained the audience with his quest from escaping the evil Captain Gantu. And somewhere then he asked who could be a good monkey… that time my younger brother was sitting at the front (I think he was moody), so when the monkey question popped up, he was the first to raise his hand. And oh! did that make things 10x funnier!!

gif gif 6 gif 2

I can’t bring to mind what had specifically happened, but there was a time where Captain Gantu exploded this orange planet that made Stitch upset. Next he asked my older brother “Is that your planet Malaysia?” with this really cute Stitch face. And of course, my brother shook no.

The show was over so we exited. A feeling of disappointment from entering Stitch Live turned into a humorous memory that we all will treasure for a very long time!

How it looks like from outside
How it looks like from outside

When outside, we finally found my mum and sister and all at once my brothers and I told them what had happened back in the Stitch Live studio. My mum was upset because she also wanted to visit it with us, but I guess plans don’t work as well.

There was a point where I was very insistent to ride a roller coaster. So my mum suggested I follow my dad while the rest went on not-so-scary rides.

What’s cool about Disneyland Paris was that it was split into 4 lands.  mickeymouse4

I forgot which  was the space themed one, but you can have a guess. Since my dad was more familiar with Disneyland as afore mentioned, he knew which roller coaster rides were the best and suitable for my height. We compromised with Space Mountain. And can I say it was one heck of a ride! That was one I certainly did not regret going. After that, my dad vowed to not go on any other extreme rides in Paris, ahahaha. This was me on this flying thing… while waiting for our turn on the Space Mountain (cus we bought a ticket to skip the queue).

Mak Chak visit 02

During the next couple of days, our time in Disneyland grew more fun. We took pictures with Disney characters and went on awesome rides, from Disney’s bumper Car, to Buzz Lightyear’s flying spaceship. These are some photos of us…

GOOFYY!!!
GOOFYY!!!
This was in Alice in the Wonderland's maze.
This was in Alice in the Wonderland’s maze.
With King Louie from The Jungle Book
With King Louie from The Jungle Book
Going down the stairs of a Disney tree house.
Going down the stairs of a Disney tree house.
A map of Adventureland.
A map of Adventureland.

Throughout my whole journey in Paris, I was supported by my trustworthy long pink coat, as you can oh so obviously see. Looking back at the photos, I just realized most of my winter clothing were pink! My gloves, my hat…I can say it was unintentional, honestly!

Lilo and Stitch!
Lilo and Stitch!

So yeah, Disneyland Paris was amazing, if not more: tremendous, splendid, fantastic, breath-taking, astounding, fear-some. You name it! I couldn’t have asked for a better bunch to go with than my family, they were awesome! We went to the theme park for more than a day, not all the pictures was at one go. But I combined the whole trip to Disneyland, so bear in mind the all this was not just a day. Our next destination was sight-seeing the true city of Paris…

One last picture: I love how all three of us fit so well with the characters of Monster’s Inc.
Leave a Reply

