The City of FUN: Arrival

Yeyyoh!

Le Eiffel Tower...
Le Eiffel Tower…

I know, it’s actually The City Of Love. But going there in 2008 with my family wasn’t just a pleasant bondage, it was a joyful time together. So yes, my family and I went to Paris, France 6 yrs ago when I was 11.

Let’s start all the way from the ferry, yes, the ferry…

We went to Paris from England through a ferry, and not just the usual ferry you go with your friends in Penang. This was like a big ferry where you get SOOOOOOO BLOOODYYY seasick! And we weren’t even outside! I forgot how long the trip was, but it was more than an hour. And I remembered my siblings and I complaining and moaning to my parents about how friggin dizzy we were and when the journey would end. I asked why being in that particular transport felt that way, when in fact we’ve been in a couple of Penang ferries. And to that my dad replied “It’s the same, even back in Malaysia it was quite a journey”. But nope, I denied it. I said in Malaysia it wasn’t as bad, and to this day I agree with my Year 5 self.

That’s me in the ferry lounge, obviously bored to death.

We FINALLY arrived and drove to our accommodation. Honestly, I can’t remember whether the trip was long, but I can say it was better than the ferry ride. We stayed in Disney’s Davy Crockett Ranch which was a whole neighborhood of cabins/caravans and the environment was really woody with lots of thick trees surrounding it. If not trees then barks, or logs, or branches, or sticks, or leaves, basically a part of a tree.

You can roughly see what we woke up to that time, the outside view from the cabin was so warming...
You can roughly see what we woke up to that time, the outside view from the cabin was so warming…

Even the slide in the swimming pool was made out of wood, they were big logs where you literally slide down it. While waiting for our cabin to be ready, we hung around the little shop near the registration centre. The shop sold Disney merchandises, mostly stuffed toys. Here, you can see it for yourself.

Just look at the amount of stuff!
Just look at the amount of stuff!

The place was really cool. They even had their own stables…

That night we went to Disneyland just for a stroll. It wasn’t time to try out all the rides because first of all, it was near to midnight and all the rides were closed. And second, we wanted to just have a look around to get a fair view on the place. We went during Christmas so they lit up the entire place with Christmas spirits.

My mum, my sister and I (it was freeeeezing, and did I mention it was night time?)
My mum, my sister and I (it was freeeeezing, and did I mention it was night time?)
My mum, my sister, my brothers and I standing somewhere in the Disneyland entrance.
My mum, my sister, my brothers and I standing somewhere in the Disneyland entrance.

It was an unsurprisingly delightful night. They put on a number of Disney shows with Cinderella and Prince Charming dancing near the palace, and Mickey and Minnie Mouse ice skating. The only unfortunate thing was the weather. Not to say it was absolutely unbearable, but it was to the point where you wonder whether the water vapor forming from your exhalation was gonna freeze or not.

After our walk, we went back to the cabin and ate my mum’s Rendang that she brought to Paris. Yup, the famous Malaysian dish. Thinking about it now, it is quite a story to have Rendang in Paris; then we dozed off, dreaming about what awaits us in Paris…

One last picture: Rendang in Paris (I look really high, yes I know).
Leave a Reply

